Steve Barclay MP: written questions
4 Jul 2025–3 Jul 2026
How these years work
Our reporting years run from 4 July to 3 July, starting with the 2024 general election. They are not official parliamentary sessions. Office costs keep IPSA’s April–March financial years. Records may cover only part of a year; a missing record does not mean no work was done.
Read what this MP said, asked and contributed in Parliament.
20 published records · newest first.
Written questions
Defence: Small BusinessesMinistry of DefenceTabled 21 Apr 2026AnsweredUIN 128670More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, pursuant to the Answer of 20 April 2026 to Question 124580 on Defence: Small Businesses, by what date he expects to have in place the wider range of indicators to measure his Department’s success in attracting ne
Answer: Subsequent to the establishment of the Defence Office for Small Business Growth in January, the Department is currently working to deliver full operating capability by the end of this year. This activity is being aided by engagement with a pathfinder grou...
Answered 27 Apr 2026
Original Parliament recordMinistry of Defence: Small BusinessesMinistry of DefenceTabled 15 Apr 2026AnsweredUIN 127437More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, with reference to his Department's press release entitled Ministry of Defence small and medium-sized enterprise engagement published on 24 March 2026, whether his Department plans to publish the (a) the SME actio
Answer: The Ministry of Defence (MOD) is committed to publishing an annual SME Action Plan as a key element of Defence’s work to improve opportunities for SMEs. On current plans, the MOD’s full annual SME action plan, including direct spending target will not be ...
Answered 24 Apr 2026
Original Parliament recordMinistry of Defence: Written QuestionsMinistry of DefenceTabled 14 Apr 2026AnsweredUIN 127083More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, when he plans to answer question 115383, tabled on 24 February 2026.
Answer: I will respond to the right hon. Member shortly.
Answered 23 Apr 2026
Original Parliament recordDefence: Small BusinessesMinistry of DefenceTabled 10 Apr 2026AnsweredUIN 124580More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, which key performance indicators he will use to judge the success of his Department's SME Commercial Pathway.
Answer: The Pathway will be a contributor to the primary measure of success, which is achieving the Ministry of Defence’s target of spending £7.5 billion annually with SMEs, both directly and through the supply-chain, by 2028. The Department is exploring a wider ...
Answered 20 Apr 2026
Original Parliament recordDefence: Small BusinessesMinistry of DefenceTabled 10 Apr 2026AnsweredUIN 124579More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, the average time taken for an SME to obtain security clearance to (a) bid for and (b) deliver a defence contract.
Answer: In most instances, it is not necessary for a company or individual to hold security clearance prior to commencing the bidding process for a government contract. Should access to sensitive information or assets be required either during the bidding phase o...
Answered 20 Apr 2026
Original Parliament recordDefence: InnovationMinistry of DefenceTabled 10 Apr 2026AnsweredUIN 124578More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, the (a) number and (b) value of Defence Innovation Loans made in each round since 4 July 2024.
Answer: The number and value of Defence Innovation Loans made since 4 July 2024, by financial year (FY), are as follows: DIL Round Number ValueDefence Innovation Loan FY2023-24 Cycle 4 1 £881,570Defence Innovation Loan FY2023-24 Cycle 7 1 £1,247,513Defence Innova...
Answered 20 Apr 2026
Original Parliament recordMinistry of Defence: Civil ServantsMinistry of DefenceTabled 24 Mar 2026AnsweredUIN 123143More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, with reference to Q134 of the oral evidence given by his Department's Permanent Secretary to the Defence Committee on 17 March 2026, HC 1779, if he will publish the metrics used for tracking the reduction in civi
Answer: The Ministry of Defence publishes metrics to report total Civil Service headcount, and changes over time biannually and are available on gov.uk. (https://www.gov.uk/government/statistics/mod-biannual-civilian-personnel-report-october-2025) The next editio...
Answered 1 Apr 2026
Original Parliament recordOfficersMinistry of DefenceTabled 24 Mar 2026AnsweredUIN 123142More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, how many one star military officers and above does he plan to have in place by the end of this Parliament.
Answer: Defence’s workforce structure is regularly reviewed and adjusted according to the threat and capability requirements. This includes the number of senior officers. The future workforce structure and associated workforce plans will be reviewed in conjunctio...
Answered 31 Mar 2026
Original Parliament recordMinistry of Defence: AccountabilityMinistry of DefenceTabled 24 Feb 2026AnsweredUIN 115388More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, pursuant to the answer of 9 February 2026 to question number 110769, if he will confirm whether any minister in his Department was made aware of the report prior to the appointment of the new Permanent Secretary.
Answer: As previously advised, the appointment followed an external competition and was approved by the Prime Minister.
Answered 4 Mar 2026
Original Parliament recordReserve Forces: CybersecurityMinistry of DefenceTabled 24 Feb 2026AnsweredUIN 115387More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, in each of the last three years for which figures are available, how many members of the UK’s Active Reserve forces were qualified at the level of (i) UK Cyber Security Council Principal Cyber Security Profession
Answer: The accreditations in question, whilst aligned to the Defence cyber skillsets, are not formal Ministry of Defence qualifications. The information is not therefore held centrally and could only be provided at disproportionate cost.
Answered 10 Mar 2026
Original Parliament recordReserve Forces: Armoured Fighting VehiclesMinistry of DefenceTabled 24 Feb 2026AnsweredUIN 115386More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, in each of the last three years for which figures are available, how many members of the UK’s Active Reserve forces were qualified and current as a Foxhound driver.
Answer: For reasons of operational security, the Ministry of Defence does not disclose detailed information on internal force structures or strengths.
Answered 23 Mar 2026
Original Parliament recordReserve Forces: Armoured Fighting VehiclesMinistry of DefenceTabled 24 Feb 2026AnsweredUIN 115385More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, in each of the last three years for which figures are available, how many members of the UK’s Active Reserve forces were qualified and current as a Jackal driver.
Answer: For reasons of operational security, the Ministry of Defence does not disclose detailed information on internal force structures or strengths.
Answered 23 Mar 2026
Original Parliament recordReserve Forces: ArtilleryMinistry of DefenceTabled 24 Feb 2026AnsweredUIN 115384More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, in each of the last three years for which figures are available, how many members of the UK’s Active Reserve forces were qualified and current as a light gun operator.
Answer: For reasons of operational security, the Ministry of Defence does not disclose detailed information on internal force structures or strengths.
Answered 23 Mar 2026
Original Parliament recordReserve ForcesMinistry of DefenceTabled 24 Feb 2026AnsweredUIN 115383More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, what proportion of applicants to the UK's Active Reserve forces successfully joined in the last year for which figures are available.
Answer: The UK’s Reserve Forces are a vital component of Defence, providing critical capability, specialist skills and a strong connection to wider society, while offering a flexible and cost‑effective means of meeting operational demand. Reserves underpin the Ar...
Answered 29 Apr 2026
Original Parliament recordF-35 Aircraft: ProcurementMinistry of DefenceTabled 24 Feb 2026AnsweredUIN 115382More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, pursuant to National Audit Office Report HC 989 on The UK’s F-35 capability, when he expects the UK F-35 fleet to meet the MoD’s target mission capable rate.
Answer: The Ministry of Defence is committed to achieving the target mission capable rate for the UK's F-35 fleet. To meet workforce requirements, the Department is increasing the number of aircraft engineers. In parallel, the UK is actively supporting the US-led...
Answered 4 Mar 2026
Original Parliament recordReserve Forces: AviationMinistry of DefenceTabled 24 Feb 2026AnsweredUIN 115381More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, with reference to the partnership between KLM Royal Dutch Airlines and the Dutch Ministry of Defence to allow airline pilots to serve as reserve F-35 pilots in the Royal Netherlands Air Force, what assessment has
Answer: The Royal Air Force (RAF) has assessed options for reservist pilots to bolster our F35 force and concluded that this model is not appropriate for the RAF at this time.The investment in time and money to train a part-time pilot on F35 and keep them suffici...
Answered 4 Mar 2026
Original Parliament recordMinistry of Defence: AccountabilityMinistry of DefenceTabled 4 Feb 2026AnsweredUIN 110769More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, whether he was made aware of conclusion 1 in the Sixty-second Report of the Committee of Public Accounts entitled Faulty energy efficiency installations, HC 1229, prior to the decision to appoint a new Permanent
Answer: The Ministry of Defence Permanent Secretary was appointed following an external competition and approval from the Prime Minister.The Department for Energy Security and Net Zero will respond to the Public Accounts Committee report (HC 1229) in the usual wa...
Answered 9 Feb 2026
Original Parliament recordReserve Forces: FinanceMinistry of DefenceTabled 30 Jan 2026AnsweredUIN 109801More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, with reference to his Department's letter to the Rt hon. Member for North East Cambridgeshire, reference: PQW/24-25/2025/16500/16507/16511/16512/16514/16521, dated 20 August 2025, and the oral contribution of the
Answer: The Government has committed to spending 2.6% of GDP on defence from 2027, and we have set the ambition to reach 3% in the next Parliament, subject to economic and fiscal conditions. Over this Spending Review period, this Government will invest over £270 ...
Answered 13 Feb 2026
Original Parliament recordReserve Forces: FinanceMinistry of DefenceTabled 28 Jan 2026AnsweredUIN 109090More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, if he will make an assessment of the compatibility of (a) comments made in the SDSR on funding for a 20 per cent increase the reserves with (b) comments made by the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at col.7
Answer: I am grateful for the contribution of our Reserve Forces, who help the UK Armed Forces meet the threats we face at home and abroad, with the scale, skills, agility and connection to society that we need in a cost‑effective way. The diversity of knowledge,...
Answered 3 Mar 2026
Original Parliament recordMinistry of Defence: Public ExpenditureMinistry of DefenceTabled 21 Jan 2026AnsweredUIN 107369More
Question: To ask the Secretary of State for Defence, how much his Department has spent on the reserves in 2024-25 and 2023-24, broken down by RDEL, CDEL and TDEL; and how much it plans to spend in 2025-26, broken down by RDEL, CDEL and TDEL.
Answer: The Government has committed to spending 2.6% of GDP on defence from 2027, and we have set the ambition to reach 3% in the next Parliament, subject to economic and fiscal conditions. Over this Spending Review period, this Government will invest over £270 ...
Answered 13 Feb 2026
Original Parliament record
Explore activity by topic or department
Written questions by answering department
4 Jul 2025–3 Jul 2026. One record per UIN and tabled date; the named department is not a measure of answer quality.
View as listWhat this shows and doesn't show
Published records only — not a full account of an MP’s work. How we work →